A Brief Visual History of Red

I did this a while ago with the color blue, inspired by a British art history documentary. For the Fourth of July, how about red? Red is one of my favorite colors, and always reminds me of my mom (a redhead). So, here for your momentary enjoyment, I present a very brief visual history of red.

Side note: As a historian, I feel a slave to linear time–so, it will not be a chronological history!

Other side note: (Did I miss your favorite art work embodying the color red? Message me and let me know!)

Rothko, Untitled, 1968

tall

Salvador Dali, Elephants, 1948

images.jpeg

Jan Van Eyck, Portrait of a Man in Red Turban, 1433

van-eyck-man-red-turban-resized-173

Johannes Vermeer, Girl in Red Hat, 1665-1666

girl-red-hat.jpg

Georgia O’Keeffe, Red Amaryllis, 1937

Red-Amaryllis.jpg

Andy Warhol, Self Portrait, 1986

Warhol-Self-portrait-1986-e1303361766276

Giovanni Bellini, Madonna and Child Standing on a Parapet, 1460s

Madonna_with_Child_Standing_on_a_Parapet_1460_S.jpg

Amedeo Modigliani, Young Redhead in Evening Dress, 1918

modigliani (1).jpg

Vincent Van Gogh, Almond Blossom Series, 1888-1890

e287bddc9fa247133aea1383bca90d1e.jpg

Rothko, Untitled, 1970

a16072_sbd

 

Leave a Reply

